Hip Hop Makes A Boom In Houston

Last night I watched the BET Hip Hop Awards with family ranging between the ages of fourteen and twenty-three. No need to tell how old I am, just know that I am a very grown woman. Ha, I set you straight!

There were some very good points and a lot of not so good points in the show; however, most of the good came from more seasoned/old school hip hop artists. I watched the faces as the younger ones in the room smiled and made that “ooooo” sound during the cyphers when Treach of Naughty by Nature, David Banner, and even Remy and Papoose did their thing. I also watched them look in awe as Doug E. Fresh made his acceptance speech, and then get their groove on as he and Snoop took the event to that level of entertainment that we all love. The conversation was also brought up how Brandy, MC Lyte, Yo-Yo, and Queen Latifah “turnt up” without showing their booty cheeks and brought a REAL sense of sisterhood and empowerment to the stage. When was the last time you saw that among females in Hip Hop? I must admit that there were a couple of newcomers that were able to keep us all on the same page…..notice I said a couple. I find it sad that the new ones we all did like were in the cypher but are not heard on main stream radio.

My point – Houston may have finally got it right when it comes to Hip Hop.

On this past Monday, what was News 92 became BOOM 92 (92.1FM on your Houston dial). This is a 24/7 Old School Hip Hop station!!!!!!! Why am I so excited? I can finally turn on my radio when I need a Hip Hop fix and not have to figure out what the artist is saying or feel violated. THANK YOU RADIO ONE! Believe me when I say it’s not just me who is overly excited about this new station. A co-worker of mine who is a white male in his early twenties told me that he and his team (different races and ages) on his other job have been listening to it nonstop during their shift. This is what the heads at Radio One wanted, a station that can have people of all races and ages to tune in and enjoy the music and culture of TRUE HIP HOP. 

Boom there it is!

