Hey DJ, Rewind That!

Yep, that is what I said when I heard the new single “Rewind” by Rascal Flatts while sitting in the conference room at The New 93Q for their up close and personal.

Petrice-Rascal Flatts
The Q Morning Zoo’s Tim Tuttle, Kevin Kline, and Erica Rico hosted the event with some Q&A for the group to get things started. That’s when I realized these guys are as comical as they are talented. I found out that Gary’s wife thinks he’s a speed demon, Jay is guilty of texting while eating, and Joe could have hugged me a little tighter cause he is grown-man sexy.

One listener got her birthday wish by having the guys sing “My Wish”. They gave us a quick sample of what a medley of their songs could sound like at a concert. I was like, “YEAH!” (in my Lil Jon voice) until I found out they were only joking about doing a concert full of medleys. All shucks, they had me going. They took a pause from playing live so that we could hear the new single on CD. At first I thought that was kind of strange, but a couple of seconds into the song I totally understood. We would not have been able to fully appreciate the instrumentation of the song if they would have played it live with only two guitars. The song started out with a simple groove as Gary’s magical voice wooed us. About 30 seconds later, I was in a trance. My ears were trying to grasp every riff and strum from the guitars, the cadenced madness of the drums, and the harmonic voices from the guys that exploded into a melodic change. This happened more than once throughout the song, and to say I was impressed would be an understatement. Rascal Flatts has done it again y’all!

I asked the station’s Music Director when we would start hearing “Rewind” on air, and guess what? I heard it today! This is the reason The New 93Q is known as the best country station and recipient of the 2013 Marconi Award. Now I can really say, “YEAH!” in my best Lil Jon voice.

